Clapton CFC face Biggleswade United away in the Women’s FA Cup after giantkilling

Clapton CFC women’s first team have been drawn away to Biggleswade United in the Women’s FA Cup.

The third qualifying round tie will take place on Sunday, October 24 at 2pm.

It comes after the Tons’ amazing cup upset yesterday in winning 6-3 away at Haringey Borough, a team two levels above. The Tons were given a bye through from the first qualifying round.

Biggleswade, whose chairman is football journalist Guillem Balague, play in the Eastern Region Women’s Football League Division One, which is a level higher than the Tons.

They are top of their league so far and beat Headstone Manor, who play in our division, 3-2 to reach this round.

In our debut season in the Women’s FA Cup in 2018/9, we played two home games at the Stray Dog, winning 6-3 against Margate then lost 3-2 against Oakwood, with a combined attendance of 571.

Last season we missed out on the competition entering due to Covid-related league administration delays but we’re back and ‘only’ 8 wins from Wembley.

Round Dates

First Round Qualifying Sunday 12 September 2021
Second Round Qualifying Sunday 3 October 2021
Third Round Qualifying Sunday 24 October 2021
First Round Proper Sunday 14 November 2021
Second Round Proper Sunday 28 November 2021
Third Round Proper Sunday 12 December 2022
Fourth Round Proper Sunday 30 January 2022
Fifth Round Proper Sunday 27 February 2022
Quarter-Final Sunday 20 March 2022
Semi-Final Sunday 17 April 2022
Final Sunday 15 May 2022

2 comments

  1. Can you let me know the contact details for the Women’s team so that I can agree details of the match arrangements for our WFA Cup tie?

    Many thanks
    Tracey James
    Secretary, Biggleswade United FC

Join the Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *