Clapton CFC heading to Manchester for FCUM double header

Clapton CFC are delighted to announce we will visit FC United of Manchester for a pre-season double header.

The celebration of fans-owned football will take place at FCUM’s Broadhurst Park with two games back to back on Saturday, 7th August.

Our women’s first teams will kick off at 1.30pm for the first ever Supporters Direct Trophy for women’s football. At 4pm, the men’s first teams will clash in a pre-season friendly ahead of the 2021/2022 season.

FCUM are, of course, the trailblazing fans-owned club who set themselves up to protest against the take-over of Manchester United by the Glazer family.

They have risen rapidly through the men’s and women’s football pyramids, while off the pitch they’ve built up their own stadium that’s become a vital community hub. Something to inspire all CCFC members, for sure.

Their men’s team now plays at Step 3 of non-league (compared to CCFC at Step 7) and their women’s team have just been promoted to Tier 4 (compared to CCFC at 7).

This is the third major Clapton CFC away friendly trip, following on from men’s team games at CE Jupiter in Barcelona in April 2019 and Roter Stern in Leipzig in August 2019.

Further match details – including the all-important ticket and travel information – and other pre-season games for all our teams to follow.

Supporters Direct Trophy

The Supporters Direct Trophy is an invitational cup game competed for annually between fans-owned clubs. Our men’s first team competed for the cup in 2018 – losing 4-0 to Enfield Town – but this is the first time women’s teams have competed.

Previous finals

2002 AFC Wimbledon 3 Enfield Town 2
2003 Not held
2004 Brentford 2 AFC Wimbledon 0
2005 AFC Wimbledon 1 FC United of Manchester 0
2006 FC United of Manchester 2 AFC Wimbledon 1
2007 Enfield Town 1 Cambridge City 1
2008 Brentford 2 AFC Wimbledon 1
2009 AFC Wimbledon 2 FC United of Manchester 0
2010 AFC Telford United 2 FC United of Manchester 0
2011 Chester 2 FC United of Manchester 1
2012 Enfield Town 3 Wrexham 1
2013 Enfield Town 8 Beveren 2
2014 Merthyr Town 3 Wrexham 2
2015 FC United of Manchester 1 Wrexham 1 – cup shared
2016 Ton Pentre 5 Newport County 0
2017 Exeter City 2 Bath City 0
2018 Enfield Town 4 Clapton CFC 0
2019 Enfield Town 3 FC United of Manchester 1
2020 Not held
2021 Men: FC United of Manchester vs Enfield Town
2021 Women: FC United of Manchester vs Clapton CFC

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *