Clapton reach Jim Rogers President’s Division One Cup final – full 2018/9 results and history

The Jim Rogers President’s Cup is for clubs in two divisions at the same level – the Middlesex County Football League Division One West and Central & East.

Clapton CFC, who play in Central & East, are in the final after wins away at South Kilburn Reserves and FC Deportivo Galicia Reserves a home victory against London Samurai on penalties, and a semi-final win at Wilberforce Wanderers.

The final is scheduled for April 13 at a neutral venue, Isthmian League side Uxbridge FC’s Honeycroft stadium. Kick off is 7.45pm. Yes, on a Saturday night! This is traditional for the final of this competition.

Our opponents are Hilltop FC. See the list of past finals at the bottom of this page.

2018/19 Jim Rogers President’s Cup results

First round

South Kilburn Reserves 2 Clapton Community 4
Yeading Town 7 Hereford Palace 0
Ealing Town 3 Kodak (Harrow) 2
Eastfield 1 London Samurai 2
London Rangers H/W Sporting Club of London
FC Roast 3 FC IGK 1

Second round

FC Deportivo Galicia Reserves 1 Clapton Community 4
London Samurai 4 Alpha & Omega 1
The Wilberforce Wanderers 4 Western Athletic 0
Eagles FC 0 New Hanford 2
The Curve 0 Ealing Town 6
Stonewall 3 NW London 1
FC Roast 2 Yeading Town 1
Hilltop 5 London Rangers 1


Clapton Community 1 London Samurai 1 (5-3 on pens)
Ealing Town 2 New Hanford 5
Stonewall 2 Hilltop 3
The Wilberforce Wanderers 5 FC Roast 1

Semi finals

The Wilberforce Wanderers 1 Clapton Community 4
New Hanford 1 Hilltop 6


Clapton Community vs Hilltop


The competition was known simply as the President’s Division One Cup until 2003, when Jim Rogers’ name was added.

Division One of the Middlesex County Football League for a long time was a reserves division, and the President’s Cup was the reserve division trophy, hence why so many reserves teams appear on the roll of honour.

It’s testament to the expansion of the MCFL that there are now 65 teams competing across five divisions, and hardly any are reserves teams. A few decades ago, there were just two divisions, one for first teams and one for reserve teams, with a total of 24 teams.

There are some gaps in the list – these we believe are due to a shake-up of the cup competitions in those seasons.

2017/18 Fire United Christian 2 New Hanford 1 (at Uxbridge FC, att 109)
2016/17 AFC United 2 Spartan Youth 0 (at Uxbridge FC, att 78)
2015/16 Mile End Park Rangers 2 Brentham 0 (at Uxbridge FC, att 142)
2014/15 Paddington Elite 4 Pitshanger Dynamo 0 (at Uxbridge FC, att 122)
2013/14 Not completed (weather)
2012/13 Pitshanger Dynamo 1 St Lawrence 0 (at Uxbridge FC. att 169)
2011/12 Imperial College Old Boys 1 LPOSSA 0 (at Uxbridge FC, att 176)
2010/11 Sandgate 1 Bethnal Green United 0 (at Harrow Borough, att 126)
2009/10 Stedfast United 3 Sporting Hackney 2 AET (at Yeading FC, att 109)
2008/09 Stedfast United 5 North Greenford United Social 0 (at Yeading FC, att 126)
2007/08 Hayes United 4 FC Assyria 0 (at Yeading FC, att 250)
2006/07 Signcraft 3 North Greenford United Social 2 (at Yeading FC, att 208)
2005/06 Bison 4 Fenerbahce 1 (at Yeading FC)
2004/05 Eastside 4 Harefield Ex-Servicemens 1 AET
2003/04 Samuel Lithgow 3 Brazilian FSSC 2 AET (at Yeading FC)
2002/03 Marsh Rangers 3 Actual Soccer 0 (at Uxbridge FC)
2001/02 Western Command 3 North Greenford United 2 (at Viking Greenford FC)
2000/01 Southall Town Reserves 4 Neasden 2000 Reserves 2 AET
1999/00 Willesden Constantine Reserves 1 Neasden 2000 0 (at Brook House FC)
1994/95 North Greenford United Reserves 3 Southall Reserves 1 (at Spelthorne Sports FC)
1993/94 Osterley Reserves 2 New Hanford Reserves 2 AET, 3-0 pens (at North Greenford United)
1990/91 Heathrow Club 2 Technicolor Sports Reserves 2 AET, 5-4 pens (at Hayes FC)
1989/90 Brook House Reserves 2 Osterley Park Rangers 1 (at Harefield United)
1988/89 Northfield Rangers Reserves 3 Harrow St Mary’s Reserves 2 (at Harefield United)
1987/88 Graystone CMB 2 Harefield Town 0 (at Yeading FC)
1986/87 Evershed Social Reserves 2 Hanwell Town A 1 (at Northwood FC)
1985/86 Evershed Social Reserves 2 Technicolor Sports Reserves 0 after replay (at Yeading FC)
1984/85 Mill End Sports Reserves 3 Kenboro All Stars Reserves 1 (at Lucas CAV)

One comment

  1. Congratulations to the team and the club on reaching the Presidents Cup Final, everyone knows that this is going to be a brilliant day out for the fans and team alike Forza Clapton CFC!!!

    Moving on to the Anagram Records Cup semi-final at Ware Sports later this month I would just like to tell other fans that a group of us from the local Herts area will be meeting in the Old Bull’s Head pub at the end of Ware High Street prior to the game. This is the closest pub to the Wodson Park sports complex and we would be pleased to welcome our Clapton CFC supporting comrades to share a pre-match drink and a noisy walk to the ground.

    We am also pleased to be able to use this opportunity to show off our new banner declaring the support of Welwyn & Hatfield Trades Council for the ‘Tons’.

Join the Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *